Father's Day Eve

My Father

When I was four years old, I said:
“My daddy can do anything.”

When I was five years old, I said:
“My daddy knows a whole lot.”

When I was six years old, I said:
My dad is smarter than your dad.”

When I was eight years old, I said:
My dad doesn’t know exactly everything.”

When I was ten years old, I said:
“In the olden days, when my dad grew up, things were sure different.”

When I was twelve years old, I said:
“Oh, well, naturally, my dad doesn’t know anything about that. He’s too old to remember his childhood.

When I was fourteen years old, I said:
“Don’t pay any attention to my dad. He’s so old-fashioned.”

When I was twenty-one years old, I said:
“Him? Please, he’s hopelessly out of date.”

When I was twenty-five years old, I said:
“My dad knows about it, but then he should. He’s been around long enough.”

When I was thirty years old, I said:
“Maybe I should ask my dad what he thinks, After all, he’s had a lot of experience.”

When I was thirty-five years old, I said:
“I’m not doing a single thing until I talk to my dad.”

When I was forty years old, I said:
“I wonder how my dad would have handled it. He was so wise.”

When I was fifty years old, I said:
“I’d give anything if my dad were here now so I could talk to him.”

Adapted from writing by Ann Landers

About Margaret

Just a girl going through this life, one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

