Keeping Our Priorities Straight

My Bible Story Time lesson last night on Keeping Our Priorities Straight, reminded me of this song. God will take all that we give Him; what He wants is the first place in our hearts.

~~~~~

Lord, Take the First Place

I yield to thee, Savior, forsaking my all,
From sinful things now I will part;
To thee I surrender, for mercy I call,
Come, take the first place in my heart.

Oh, take the first place in my heart
Oh, take the first place in my heart
I open the door, Come in I implore;
Lord, take the first place in my heart.

O come gentle Spirit, don’t leave me I pray,
From thee I will never depart;
I come to thee now, for I cannot delay,
Lord, take the first place in my heart.

I cannot be lost, Lord, for thee I will live,
Forgiveness, O Savior, impart;
If I will confess thou wilt freely forgive,
And take the first place in my heart.

The joybells of heaven will ring in my soul,
My Savior, Redeemer, thou art;
To thee I surrender, wilt thou make me whole?
Take now the first place in my heart.

Barney E. Warren, 1925

~~~~~

Matthew 6:33
But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

“Seek the comforts of the kingdom of grace and glory as your felicity. Aim at the kingdom of heaven; press towards it; give diligence to make it sure; resolve not to take up short of it; seek for this glory, honour, and immortality; prefer heaven and heavenly blessings far before earth and earthly delights.

Let your care for your souls and another world take the place of all other cares: and let all the concerns of this life be made subordinate to those of the life to come: we must seek the things of Christ more than our own things; and if every they come in competition, we must remember to which we are to give the preference. “Seek these things first; first in thy days: let the morning of thy youth be dedicated to God. Wisdom must be sought early; it is good beginning betimes to be religious. Seek the first every day; let waking thoughts be of God.” Let this be our principle, to do that first which is most needful, and let him that is the First, have the first.

Clarke’s Commentary

~~~~~

Luke 10:41-42
And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and
troubled about many things: But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen
that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

May we remember to always chose the “good part”.

Trust God for your day, Today

About Margaret

Just a girl going through this life, one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

