The Lord Is My Shepherd

This day again I will borrow from Gifted Through Grace

Psalms 23 – Expanded

The LORD is my shepherd;
(A Shepard leads, for the Lord to be our Shepard, we have to be willing to be led.)
I shall not want.
(As a Shepard, the Lord takes care of his sheep, he provides even before a want, need, or desire arises.)
He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:
(He provides not only lush food, he provides a resting place.)
he leadeth me beside the still waters.
(Our Shepard provides us something to drink and peace in the soul. Still waters are a symbol of a calm and peaceful spirit as opposed to a troubled sea.)
He restoreth my soul:
(He restores us, giving us new strength every day)
he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
(He leads us in his way of right living for his glory, so we can be a testimony of his guidance.)
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
(Yes we are going to go through rough times, but even though we do)
I will fear no evil: for thou art with me;
(We don’t have to fear because our Shepard won’t leave us. He will be with us always. We can trust in this promise.)
thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.
(A shepherd’s rod and staff are used to protect and guide, just as his word and scriptures are to us. They will protect, guide and give comfort when we are going through those hard trials.)
Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies:
(He provides for us even when those around us have not or are against us.)
thou anointest my head with oil;
(He blesses us with his salvation and oil of holiness.)
my cup runneth over.
( He blesses and encourages, and provides over and over until we can no longer contain it and have to praise him and share his blessings.)
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life:
(If God is before us leading, goodness and mercy “got our back” there is no need to fear. And we have the assureance that they won’t leave, but will be with us all the days.)
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.
(We can dwell with him in his house, because he is in us. We are the temple of God, and he comes to live with in us. As long as we allow him to be our Shepard and lead us, we can be with him forever.) KJV

Trust God for your day, Today

About Margaret

Just a girl going through this life, one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

