The Oak Tree

Psalms 1:3
And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water,
that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither;
and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

~~~~~

“The Oak Tree”

A mighty wind
blew night and day.
It stole the oak tree’s leaves away,
Then snapped its boughs
and pulled its bark
Until the oak was tired and stark.
But still the oak tree held its ground
While other trees fell all around.
The weary wind gave up and spoke,
“How can you still be standing, Oak?”
The oak tree said, “I know that you
Can break each branch of mine in two,
Carry every leaf away,
Shake my limbs, and make be sway.
But I have roots stretched in the earth,
Growing stronger since my birth.
You’ll never touch them, for you see,
They are the deepest part of me.
Until today, I wasn’t sure
Of just how much I could endure.
But now I’ve found, with thanks to you,
I’m stronger than I ever knew.”

~~~~~

This poem is on a card, I’ve copied it and sent it to friends who were going through a hard time.

I always kept the card. As I sorted through drawers yesterday, I found again the card. Today I copy it for any that are being buffeted by the winds of trouble. Today I read it for myself and remember my roots do go deep, and no matter what the wind strips away; it will only strengthen this tree planted by the river.

~~~~~

Jeremiah 17:7-8
Blessed is the man that trusteth in the LORD, and whose hope the LORD is. For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit.

Trust God for your day…Today

About Margaret

Just a girl going through this life, one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

