This, too, shall pass

A couple years ago I was very sick and as I started into the long ordeal of hospitalization, surgery and infection, more surgery and finally healing, my pastor told me “ This , too shall pass”. I was like Sarah and laughed, I didn’t want to wait for the passing; I wanted this to be over now. But wait I did, and I learned some things and hopefully became a little wiser.

Last week I came across this poem:

This, too, will pass

This, too, will pass. O heart, say it over and over,
Out of your deepest sorrow, out of your deepest grief,
No hurt can last forever – perhaps tomorrow will bring relief.

This, too, will pass. It will spend itself – its fury
Will die as the wind dies down with the setting sun
Assuaged and calm, you will rest again,
Forgetting a thing that is done.

Repeat it again and again, O heart for your comfort
This, too, will pass as surely as passed before
The old forgotten pain, and the other sorrows
That once you bore.

As certain as stars at night, or dawn after darkness
Inherent as the lift of the blowing grass
Whatever your despair or your frustration
This, too, will pass. Grace Noll Crowell

Matthew 28:20
and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen. —

Mathew 24:35
Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away.

Mark 13:31
Heaven and earth shall pass away: but my words shall not pass away.

Luke 21:33
Heaven and earth shall pass away: but my words shall not pass away.

Trust God for your day…Today

About Margaret

Just a girl going through this life, one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

