Rest in God

Behold the eye of the Lord is on those who fear Him, on those who hope in His mercy.
Psalms 33:18

Few people know how to rest these days. Even on vacation, many people rush to cram in as much as they can before returning to their jobs, where they spend twice as much energy catching up on the work and mail that has piled up in their absence. Many of us need vacations just to rest from our vacations! Perhaps we have been looking for rest in the wrong places.

Jesus said, “Come unto me and I Will give you rest.” Like peace, rest can be found only in one place, from one source, and that is the Lord Jesus Christ. . . .

Despite the headlines in the newspapers and some of the scenes we see on television, we know that all is going according to God’s plan and foreknowledge.

Jesus gives us the ultimate rest, the confidence we need to escape the frustration and chaos of the world around us. Rest in Him and do not worry about what lies ahead. Jesus Christ has already taken today’s care of tomorrow.
from Quiet Places of the Heart in Winter

“I don’t know about tomorrow, I just live from day to day;
I don’t borrow from it’s sunshine,
For it’s skies may turn to gray.
I don’t worry o’er the future, For I know what Jesus said;
And today I’ll walk beside Him, For He knows what lies ahead

(chorus)
Many things about tomorrow I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow, and I know who holds my hand

Ev’ry step is getting brighter
As the golden stairs I climb; ev’ry burden’s getting lighter,
Ev’ry cloud is silver-lined.
There the sun is always shining,
There no tear will dim the eye;
At the ending of the rainbow, Where the mountains touch the sky.”

Trust God for your day, ….Today

About Margaret

Just a girl going through this life, one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

